Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beolink 5000 E-Ink screen repair / mod

This post has 67 Replies | 7 Followers

pilatomic
Not Ranked
France
Posts 28
Bronze Member
pilatomic Posted: Wed, Jul 21 2021 11:30 PM

Hello,

For the last few years I've been the owner of (amongst other) a Beolink 5000 with a detached screen. Being an electronic engineer, I've spent some time looking for a viable (and cheap enough) way to repair the severed display ribbon cable, and found none.

So the last 2 months I've spent a fair amount (okay, the vast majority to be honest) of my spare time working on a screen replacement for my Beolink 5000. I was looking for an off the shelf LCD or OLED display panel with roughly the same mechanical dimensions as the original panel, hopefully transparent as well, but again I found nothing, except an E-Ink Display with possibly matching dimensions.

For those who are not familiar with this technology, E-Ink displays are used on E-Reader tablets, have very high contrast without any sort of backlight, only requires electrical power to refresh the display (can keep a picture displayed without using any power), but quite slow refresh rate (it takes a few seconds to display a picture on the screen).