Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Solved: Old Beolabs with new DAC/streamer

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 0 Followers

erlendh
Not Ranked
Posts 15
Bronze Member
erlendh Posted: Thu, Jul 22 2021 1:50 AM

I am new to the Beolabs, so might be a stupid question, sorry.

I am used to an airport express/tv -> digital outs -> dac -> amp -> speakers setup.

I am getting a pair of Beolab 6000s now. I assume there must be a dac built into the active speakers? How good is it? Is there any point using a standalone dac? Or beosound core, hall wifi streamer?

My current dac has variable line output (rca) and can be connected to active speakers. But it doesn't have the 2.5-5V power signal to turn on the Beolabs. It also doesn't have remote control.

How will Core handle volume control from TV (toslink in) or Airplay2 streaming? Do I need the Essence remote as well?

Hall wifi streamer uses hdmiarc, so TV remote can control TV volume. I suppose the Airplay2 source (iPhone) handles the music streaming volume control?

Suggestions on how to best integrate Beolab 6000s to a TV / music streaming setup is very appreciated!

leosgonewild
Top 50 Contributor
Helsinki, Finland
Posts 2,373
Bronze Member
Connect a regular rca cable between your dac and the Beolab 6000’s, and you are good to go 😀

"You think we can slap some oak on this thing?"

Millemissen
Top 10 Contributor
Flensborg, Denmark
Posts 14,680
Gold Member

erlendh:

I am new to the Beolabs, so might be a stupid question, sorry.

I am used to an airport express/tv -> digital outs -> dac -> amp -> speakers setup.

I am getting a pair of Beolab 6000s now. I assume there must be a dac built into the active speakers? How good is it? Is there any point using a standalone dac? Or beosound core, hall wifi streamer?