Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beogram 400x projects

This post has 692 Replies | 4 Followers

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
Posts 3,732
Bronze Member

Thread Links
Beogram 4002 Type 5503 and Beogram 4002 Type 5503 (additional info)
Beogram 4002 Type 5523
Beogram 4000 Type 5215

My first B&O product was a Beogram 4002 back in the mid-seventies. It was one of the AC motor types but I don't remember the exact type number. I would have to guess it was a 5503. I ended up having to sell that turntable due to school expenses. As soon as I graduated, my first purchase was another Beogram 4002.  This was a type 5523 that I still have and use. After joining the Beoworld forum to learn about maintaining and repairing my B&O equipment, I discovered the different types of 400x turntables.

This year I was able to find a couple of the type 5503 turntables for restoration and almost have one of them complete. I also hope to soon have a Beogram 4000 restoration project. There is already a lot of great information on the Beogram 4002 turntables - Beolover has a good thread and a blog, Menahem Yachad has an really nice PDF file on Beogram 4002 and 6000 restoration on his Condor Audio web site.
I followed Menahem's guide for most of my repair. However, I didn't replace the lamps with LEDs...not because of anything against LEDs, but because most of the lamps are working and I only needed to fix one.

In this thread I will try to show some differences between the types as I work on them.  I might repeat some information that is already posted but I will try to add to what has already been presented.

This first picture is my Beogram 4002 type 5503 before doing any restoration. It was fairly clean and the motors work. The top piece of the control panel was beginning to come loose.

sonavor