Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

B&0 S45 First series woofer....again

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 1 Follower

rmcpen
Not Ranked
Posts 7
Bronze Member
rmcpen Posted: Thu, Jun 26 2014 1:19 AM

Hi I am new to b&o, mainly use vintage gear from the 70's (Luxman and Accuphase), always want to try some vintage b&o speakers.

I recently acquired an S45 (Series I - two way 8 inch woofer ) pair with non original woofers (visaton w200?!) and a  non original inside foam -  I think. I should be more careful next time :).

First, let me tell you all, I've searched this forum for the same subject and found a couple of threads, but manily inconclusive about the final results, just one person saying that some monacors play really good.

My thing is, I want them OEM. I am serching for used mid/bass and there seems some variations (rubber surrounds...black magnets..) for the same size woofer from that generation.

My question is, would it be okay to have that kind of woofer (just b&o 8Ohm - 8 inch), or I really must have my own series woofer on S45 Type I.

And can someone please tell me how it is supposed to be the inside foam ( I just have some white semi-rigid stuff all over like the ones we have on our pillows....very rigid and very very new, not consistent with age). Doesn't it should be yellow foam around the box like on classic british speakers?

Nevertheless, my impressions on my woofers are terrible, lack of all things a woofer should give - voice-bass etc.., but I can imagine this could be a great speaker for good companion on my office/bedroom if correctly restored to original or semi-original condition.