Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beogram 1200 restoration project

rated by 0 users
This post has 18 Replies | 1 Follower

RNWZA
Not Ranked
Posts 17
Bronze Member
RNWZA Posted: Tue, Oct 14 2014 5:02 PM

Hi All,

I'm new to this so please bear with me if I ask a few novice questions. My Dad and I are about to embark on a restoration of a Beogram 1200...I've always loved the design and recall great sound when I was a kid.

I've spent a bit of time reading the existing work many of you have done in this space, so thanks in advance for the knowledge you've already armed me with.

For now, I'd appreciate your insights into a few questions :

1) Is it ok to use sewing machine oil to lubricate bearings, or should I use Kontakt Chemie lub oil 88?

2) What grease should I use on gears, metal arms that move etc? I haven't seen anything specific about what grease to use, like whether it needs to tolerate heat and so on.

3) I'm going to use a donor motor from a defunct 1202 that I was given...the motor spins after the previous owner used sewing machine oil...he never took it apart though. If it's spinning, do I need to still disassemble and regrease? Or even, shouldI skip the 1200 resto and rather try to resuscitate the 1202? The 1202 has a bent tonearm, and I gather this is complex to change over.

4) if the cartridge is gone, can I substitute an SP 10 in this kit? 

I'm based in South Africa so there's not much ships out here from the ebay's of the world for spares.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Steffen
Top 75 Contributor
Denmark
Posts 1,408
Bronze Member
Steffen replied on Sun, Oct 19 2014 12:31 AM

Welcome to Beoworld.

As nobody has answered yet, I wil try - at least I can answer 2 of your questions.

1) Yes - you can use sewing machine oil.