Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

RX2 cartridge question

rated by 0 users
This post has 13 Replies | 2 Followers

spensom
Not Ranked
Posts 4
Bronze Member
spensom Posted: Thu, Oct 23 2014 10:31 PM

I've been using my father's RX2 for about 4 years now with an SMMC4 cartridge from Soundsmith. It sounds really good, but have always felt it could be upgraded to gain a clearer top end and a bit more dimension to the sound.

I recently came across a vintage MMC1 cart in good condition for a great price. Is it worth the upgrade? I've heard the original MMCs had deterioration issues.

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
Posts 3,732
Bronze Member
sonavor replied on Thu, Oct 23 2014 11:19 PM

If it is in good condition and is priced where you rate it as a great price then I would recommend buying it. If you can't tell a difference between it and the MMC4 later...you can sell the MMC1 to me for a great price Smile.  Had to throw that in. But seriously, if it is a great price and good condition then snatch it up and give it a try.

-sonavor

Lee
Top 150 Contributor
Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Posts 734
Bronze Member
Lee replied on Thu, Oct 23 2014 11:37 PM

Chances are the suspension will be shot, these cartridges are over 20 years old now and the rubber in the suspension stiffens up with age, meaning it won't track the high end frequencies very well. So although it has a better stylus profile and a sapphire cantilever chances are it will do no better that your SMMC4.

If you do get the MMC1 send it off to Axel (schallplattennadeln) to have the suspension renewed.

Lee

Rich
Top 50 Contributor
Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts 2,598
Bronze Member
Rich replied on Fri, Oct 24 2014 4:03 AM