Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 5000 - front panel passive and 'no transmission'

rated by 0 users
This post has 7 Replies | 1 Follower

jebsign
Not Ranked
Spjald, Denmark
Posts 5
Bronze Member
jebsign Posted: Tue, Nov 3 2015 12:25 PM

I am new in the forum, hello beolovers, and thanks for any help offered.

I recently aquired a set of 4 Red Line 60 loudspeakers. Along with them I got a Beomaster 5000, a Beocord 5000, and a Master Control Panel 5000.

The speakers was my main interest. They are all with deteriorated mounts of the bass reflex plates. I have made an improvised repair of the mounts in 2 of the speakers.

The Beomaster 5000 I tested by connecting with the RL60 speakers and a Beogram 1902 :

Sound from both speakers, middle-low volume.

Display on the BM 5000 read 'loudness' 4.8

Display on the MCP 'no transmission'

There was no reaction when pressing the contact areas on the front panel of the BM. I was able to open the panel, and none of the buttons gives any response.

After reading related posts, I checked the ribbon connection to the front panel, and it looks ok.

So the amplifier (I don't need the tuner ) works, but is beyond control, what should I do next ?!

thanks

jebsign
Not Ranked
Spjald, Denmark
Posts 5
Bronze Member
jebsign replied on Sat, Nov 7 2015 4:30 PM

oh, no comments at all, not even "it is dead, let it rest..." ??  Broken Heart

Dave Farr
Top 50 Contributor
France
Posts 2,283
Gold Member
Never let it rest. The Beomaster will benefit from a full refurb. You can order a capacitor kit from member 'Dillen'. This may well fix many of the issues. Reflowing solder joints can help as cracks do appear. It's an old unit and needs some TLC.

Dave.
jebsign
Not Ranked
Spjald, Denmark
Posts 5
Bronze Member
jebsign replied on Sun, Nov 8 2015 12:12 PM