Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 4400 - bringing it back to life

rated by 0 users
This post has 15 Replies | 2 Followers

Wirehead
Not Ranked
Belgium
Posts 10
Bronze Member
Wirehead Posted: Wed, Mar 9 2016 6:19 PM

Hi all,

New to the forum, looks great! 

I have a mint looking Beomaster 4400 that I'm slowly bringing back to life. The previous owner had hacked in another DIN cable (probably to connect it to an external equaliser). In the process of using it, it seems he has blown up the pre-drivers. I already fixed this by removing his hack, and replacing those transistors (5TR112 - 5TR212).

Now the only problem is FM reception. I get white noise. And that's about it...
What I already checked:

-Supply voltage is good (15V) -> even on a scope, no oscillation/ripple to be seen.
-2TR1 looks OK (diode check base to emitter/collector 0,7V in both cases)
-Moving the dial left and right, moves the tuning voltage up and down - I see that at 1R1/1R5
-1TR2; I don't know, measured it with the diode check: 0,9V/1,0V. So it measures like it should, although pretty high. Is this normal for a BF255? Don't have ant spares around.

Anyone can give me some pointers? I have some experience with amps, but FM isn't up my alley yet ;)

Wirehead
Not Ranked
Belgium
Posts 10
Bronze Member
Wirehead replied on Wed, Mar 9 2016 11:21 PM

I suspect the TIS88A's (1TR3 and 1TR4). Getting 14.3 volt at the drain of TR3; 4V at the source; but only 0,4V at the source of TR4; instead of 0,7 in the schematics.

Anyone can chime in on these? Do they frequently fail?

Wirehead
Not Ranked
Belgium
Posts 10
Bronze Member
Wirehead replied on Tue, Mar 15 2016 11:29 AM

Well, it was 1TR2 all along. Measured high as I was thinking in the first place. Replaced it with a fresh (NOS) Siemens BF255. Great reception!

valve1