Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

combining a set of 1st generation S8 with a pair of beolab 3?

rated by 0 users
This post has 7 Replies | 2 Followers

williamhotelie
Not Ranked
Posts 13
Bronze Member
williamhotelie Posted: Mon, Sep 19 2016 5:22 AM

Hi guys, I'm a newbie currently in the market for my first B&O set (entry level price wise).

Originally I was going to go for the Beolab 14, but the store sales recommend me to get the soon-to-be-released Beosound 2 instead.  He said 2 of those cones can be used as a pair for great sound quality, which will sound much better than the 14, even though 14 has surround sound (5.1).

I would  much prefer the newer models as well, but 5.1 surround sound does offer better home theater experience.  So instead of just getting the 14, I was wondering if it's possible to combine a few different speakers to create a 4.1/5.1 of my own.  I was looking at some second hand 1st generation S8 which I read here is actually the same as 14 (with 5.1 capability), is it true?  Is it possible to combine those with a pair of Beolab 3 to make 4.1?  or to combine the new wireless Beosound 2 (a pair) with a pair of either Beolab 3 (with wire) or S8 (with wire)?

Steve at Sounds Heavenly
Top 50 Contributor
The cable workshop, Leics, UK
Posts 2,165
Gold Member

Hi williamhotelie,

Welcome to Beoworld!

I would advise listening to both the Beosound 2 and Beolab 14 and making up your own mind - my personal view is that Beolab 14 far exceeds the sound capabilities of the new Beosound 1 or 2 models, although these are very stylish!