Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 1900 15v supply

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 1 Follower

Saint Beogrowler
Top 150 Contributor
Saint Paul
Posts 780
Bronze Member
Saint Beogrowler Posted: Fri, Mar 31 2017 11:30 PM

I've got a beautiful Beomaster 1900 that has distortion with volume increase and intermittent right channel failure.
What I've done:
replaced the electrolytic and the filter caps. Replaced the idle trimmers and adjusted per service manual. Replaced the R151 trimmer for the 15V supply. I was only getting 13V at TP15 and no changes when adjusting the R151.
All lamps are working.
13V at TP 16 with a good wave form on the scope (I'm still learning to use this though)
13V between the rectifier and R147.
Green rectifier test good.
D50 rectifier test good.
2A quick fuse replaced
still 13V.
C95,96 100nF caps replaced, (one was a tropical fish, one wasn't)
13.5V now and still no changes with trimmer R151.

What am I missing?

Saint Beogrowler
Top 150 Contributor
Saint Paul
Posts 780
Bronze Member
Søren Mexico
Top 10 Contributor
Mexico City
Posts 6,411
Bronze Member

What is your AC current

Collecting Vintage B&O is not a hobby, its a lifestyle.

Dillen
Top 10 Contributor
Copenhagen / Denmark
Posts 13,191
Founder
Dillen replied on Sat, Apr 1 2017 6:57 AM

If D50 is still the original part, I suggest you replace it.
They often  measure fine but they are known to break down under load.

Martin

chartz
Top 25 Contributor
Burgundy, France
Posts 4,171
Gold Member
chartz replied on Sat, Apr 1 2017 1:57 PM
Dillen:

If D50 is still the original part, I suggest you replace it. They often measure fine but they are known to break down under load.

Martin