Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Advice with Powerlink cables outside??

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 0 Followers

pauljrog
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 92
Bronze Member
pauljrog Posted: Thu, Jun 29 2017 3:54 PM

Hi,

I have a B&O music setup which includes a pair of Beolab 4000, Beolab 2 and a Beolab 7.1.

I have had this setup for around 2 years now with no problems, recently I wanted to hide away all the cables, the only way to do this in my house because of reasons i'm not going into is to drill small holes through the wall and clip the powerlink and power cables to an outside wall.

I am an electrician so i went ahead and drilled all the holes in the wall and hide all the cables, I sealed up all the holes with silicon sealant.

Problem is that when I switch on the power to the speakers there is a loud hum and the LED's on the speakers are yellow.......But as soon as I switch on the stereo system (Beocenter 9300) the hum completely goes away, the LED's go Green and i hear crystal clear sound.

What do you think the problem is? The mains 240V power and Genuine B&O MK3 powerlink cables go through the same holes in the wall, but i have separated them whenever i can on the external wall, but I thought the Powerlink cables are screened??

I was gentle with all the cables on install and didn't cut any and I don't think i've damaged anything.

Also, the humming tends to get worse whenever it rains outside??

Thanks for the advice??

Paul.

OldJack
Top 200 Contributor
Split
Posts 371
Gold Member
OldJack replied on Thu, Jun 29 2017 4:08 PM

Is it raining over power and powerlink cables?