Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 3000-2: Replacing transformer with newer equivalents?

rated by 0 users
This post has 18 Replies | 1 Follower

jamesymurray
Not Ranked
Posts 5
Bronze Member
jamesymurray Posted: Wed, Oct 10 2012 1:01 AM

I have an old Beomaster 3000-2 (2402) which I have been trying to get back up and running. Signal path is now nice and clean, but the mains transformer is vibrating/humming.

I have tried to decouple the capacitor from the chassis with rubber grommets but this hasn't improved the hum much.

Looking at the schematics, the mains transformer has a 22V tap and a 43V tap.

Would there be any problems with replacing the original transformer with a pair of toroidals for each output voltage? Obviously an original transformer would be like hen's teeth.

I'm not worried about having the mains voltage selector as I have no plans to deviate from UK mains.

I'd replace the transformer only, so rectifiers and everything upstream of those would be untouched.

Thanks in advance!

James

Bob
Top 200 Contributor
Charente, France
Posts 418
Bronze Member
Bob replied on Wed, Oct 10 2012 1:34 AM

In my opinion it'll be shame, despite it may be necessary to keep the unit running - wouldn't be better solution to get original  transformer from same unit and keep it crispy original?

Some parts may prove difficult to be find, but there seem to be quiet a few non working or  working units on eBay  decently priced (your solution won't be for free neither Wink) but that's my personal view - I like to use original parts only while restoring unit.

Bob

Once you start altering it, at which point should you stop call it B&O

jamesymurray: