Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 901 hum on left channel

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 0 Followers

beginswithaJ
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Bronze Member
beginswithaJ Posted: Sat, Aug 4 2018 3:13 PM

Hi Guys, 

Love this forum and hope you can help me on my first B&O restoration :) 

I came across a semi-working 901 which has a 50hz hum in it's left channel. And I'm not giving up on this puppy YET! :D I'm not a pro electrotechnician, but I do know how to hold a soldering iron (the cold end, right?!), how to read a schematic and what a transistor does :P 

So far I've been able to determine:

• hum only appears on left channel 
  • hum is heard on speakers
  • hum is heard on headphones too
  • hum is NOT heard on tape out

• switching to another input doesn't matter. still hums.
  • the humming is about as loud on volume setting 0 as it is on 10
  • the humming is same volume on any balance setting except on right-1 to right-2, then the humming gets REALLY loud on the left channel
  • when the amp is switched on for a few seconds the hum starts sounding different... sharper is the best description I think. Less of  a sine, more of a clipped, tangent or square wave. 

(unrelated) fixes I already did:

• all caps have been replaced
  • the darlingtons have been replaced as well
  • input switches, slider pots and volume pot have been cleaned (just for the sake of complete info) 

So my guess is that it's at least confined to the left output stage, but I don't really know what to try next.

Do any of you have an idea where to start looking for more issues, or how to measure for them? (I do have a multimeter, but don't own something fancy like a scope ;)

Thanks so much!!

Craig
Top 50 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
Posts 2,040
Silver Member
Craig replied on Sat, Aug 4 2018 3:31 PM