Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beovox S 45-2 Silent Woofer

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 1 Follower

Seth Powers
Not Ranked
Des Moines
Posts 12
Bronze Member
Seth Powers Posted: Mon, Oct 22 2018 7:45 PM

Hello, all, 

I recently acquired a free pair of S 45-2s. Unfortunately, there is no sound from the woofers. Sound comes from the smaller speakers, however. I took the woofers out to check the wiring and did a battery and multimeter test. One woofer reads over 7 kohms, while the other reads near 4 ohms. I have limited to no knowledge of how speakers work, so I thought I might ask you folks for direction. 

I have read through a number of threads here and am a bit lost.

How likely can these get fixed?  

Thank you,

Seth

Craig
Top 50 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
Posts 2,040
Silver Member
Craig replied on Mon, Oct 22 2018 8:11 PM

Hi Seth

Welcome to the site......sounds like the magnets have become detached from the frames, will light pressure on the paper cones allow free movement up and down on the diaphragms? the speaker that reads 4 ohms will probably be repairable, the one reading 7k ohms is suspect. there are a number of threads here that describe the diagnosing of these issues and also methods of repair, take a look and more importantly post some pics.

Craig

Seth Powers
Not Ranked
Des Moines
Posts 12
Bronze Member

Yes, the cones both move freely when pushed lightly. I have discovered, and repaired, an issue with the speaker reading 4 ohms. It seems a wire came out of place. I have since soldered it into its correct position. 

The other speaker, with the 7 kohm reading, is, unfortunately, still silent. When I apply a 9 volt battery to it, it emits the faintest scratching sound.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-xF8_ZWMx2TZ1FMR29tUHdnbjdodTR1aUZCeEQ2MUZrRG9B