Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beocord 2000 cassette, head mechanism does not move

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 1 Follower

stevehimself
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Bronze Member
stevehimself Posted: Thu, Feb 21 2019 6:35 AM

I recently got a Beocord 2000 for free, without belts. I just replaced the belts using a thread on this site as a reference. That all seems to be in order however when i press play, there is a click but nothing moves, the tape head mechanism does not move upwards to meet the tape and the gears do not spin. I also do not hear any motor sounds. Just the click upon pressing play.

My suspicion is either some resistor is shot or perhaps a motor has gone bad, but I am completely new to this device (philips reel to reels are more my wheelhouse).

Any advice?

solderon29
Top 150 Contributor
U.K.West Midlands
Posts 764
Gold Member

This is quite a clever mechanism,but very robust and reliable normally.

When you press play,the main motor is started and a solenoid engages the mechanism in a sequence to move the head and drive roller forward,and also to establish drive to the take up turntable etc.

The click that you hear must be the solenoid actuating,so it seems that the main motor is not running?

This could be due to a seized motor,or is it possible that you haven't fitted the drive belts correctly?

This would jam the mechanism.

Are the belts the correct ones,ie not too loose or too tight.Using the correct belts is crucial for a successful repair.

A full kit of the correct belts is available from forum member Dillen.

Nick

stevehimself
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Bronze Member

Thanks for your reply. The only thing i can say with confidence is that i bought the correct belt replacement kit.

The three belts all fit nicely where i believe they belong: