Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 8000, displaying 888 and another not working at all

rated by 0 users
This post has 45 Replies | 6 Followers

BeoMaster4
Not Ranked
Posts 39
Bronze Member
BeoMaster4 Posted: Thu, Dec 6 2012 2:22 PM

Hi guys,

A while a go I got my parents old beomaster 8000 running after some time of hibernation. After three days of use the right amplifier went bust. I posted a topic about it here:

http://archivedforum2.beoworld.org/forums/t/3158.aspx

I took out both amplifier boards and completely rebuilt the right one with a kit Martin supplied me with. On the left channel I replaced the caps and trimmers. I reassembled the unit and powered it up. The machine now only displays 8's on all display units. So, it looks like my "repair" did more harm than good. Has anyone seen this problem before? Or maybe clues on where to look? Maybe a CPU or display problem?

I had some email conversation with Martin about this and since I don't have a lot of knowledge about electronics and I don't have a scope, they're is not much I can do when it comes to troubleshooting. I know how to work with my multimeter, but that's where it stops.

So, since this came to a dead end I called my local audio shop. They had a beomaster 8000 on shelf with defective amps. So I thought I'd just buy that and swap in my refurbished amps. Well, I went to the shop and we tested it there, it does not do anything at all. Only two relay clicks and that's it, no standby light, no nothing. I still bought it since he offered it to me for only 25 euros and it's exterior is in mint condition. When I got home I plugged it in a few times to listen for the relay clicks. At one time something in the thing started buzzing... Maybe bad caps?