Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 1900 remote controlled by Beolink 1000

rated by 0 users
This post has 21 Replies | 1 Follower

Johan
Top 500 Contributor
Uppsala, Sweden
Posts 239
Silver Member
Johan Posted: Wed, Dec 12 2012 6:25 PM

Yes, it's happening! I've long had this project in my head, and now being ill and bored for a couple of days I started thinking about it.

I've been studying the schematics for the 1900 and the 2400 and I think it should be quite simple.

(In the following I will talk about FM1 but the concept should be the same for all functions, albeit some don't have the preallocated space on the pcb. The relevant part of the schematics is included below.)

I soldered in the R111 100K Ohm resistor and when shorting the joints for where D22 should be the unit starts up, as expected. My idea is simply to perform the shorting with a transistor activated by a Teensy uC.

So far so good, I suppose. My problem is powering the uC. Obviously it needs to be powered even when the BM is turned off, so I was thinking that the +15V standby rail could be used. And this is where I could use some help from the electronics wizards. The Teensy needs 5+-0.5V power. Can I just put in a voltage divider to get a stable enough 5V? And can I do that without disturbing anything else? The uC won't consume a lot of current (a few the tens of mA for a few milliseconds when an IR command is incoming, some tens of uA when idle which is the rest of the time).

Also, supposing a voltage divider would do the trick, which resistor values should I choose?

I admit that I'm a bit out of my comfort zone here, but that's the only way to learn new things, right! :-)

So, can the standby rail be used? Or should I tap somewhere else? And how should I get 5V?

Thanks!

/  Johan

Dillen
Top 10 Contributor