Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 1900 Replacement Reservoir Caps

rated by 0 users
This post has 12 Replies | 0 Followers

tom79
Not Ranked
Posts 5
Bronze Member
tom79 Posted: Thu, Oct 8 2020 7:22 PM

Hi all!

I recenently purchased a used Beomaster 1900 (Type 2903) receiver. I am now in the process of recapping it to get rid of the quite noticable humming.

Since I have no experience in repairing hifi components, I bought the recap kit from the beoparts shop to make my life easier.

After dismantling the amplifier, I noted that one of the two large reservoir caps had leaked. The reservoir caps were not part of the aforementioned recap kit, so I now have to find an adequate replacement myself. Which brings me to my main question:

I am totally overwhelmed which ones to buy. The original Wilcon caps were rated 5000 uF at 35V. It doesn't say much more on the tin and I can't find the full specs anywhere. I only found one blog article where a specific replacement cap was mentioned (link), but this one is no longer manufactured.

Looking at sites like mouser, there many more specs that seem relevant like

- rated Temperature

- max ripple current

- some caps are classified as "audio grade" but most of them are "general purpose"

The price ranges also varies widely (between 4-80 EUR). I would like to buy caps that are rated for at least 2000 hours.

Regarding capacitance: There are not many caps with exactly 5000 uF. Some people suggest getting 6800 uF instead, while others say you should go for 4700 uF because the larger caps could draw too much current when turning on the amplifier.

Could anybody point me to specific cap that they have used in the past (or would use)? I'd be very grateful for any help.

Thanks,

Tom

Dillen
Top 10 Contributor
Copenhagen / Denmark
Posts 13,191
Founder