Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster problem after Recap

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 1 Follower

haptomai
Not Ranked
Posts 8
Bronze Member
haptomai Posted: Fri, Jan 15 2021 3:33 PM

Hi,

I have a Beomaster 1900 (Beomaster 1900-2 T2903), a friend gave me it with a pair of Beovox 2400. I would like to use it daily but there was a annoying "hum" at good volume. So I decided to change all the capacitors.

I bought the kit from beoparts-shop.com with all the caps needed.

Great, after a long time awaiting them, I finally found time to change all the 62 caps I found !

I made a quick test without all the panels and screws -> every tactile buttons worked (the phono was not working before, now it is), but no sound. I plugged an headset and then, I could only hear the radio when I pushed the volume to maximum. I though it could be a mass wire problem, so I put all the panels and screws.

Now I have a new problem: instantly after selecting a source, it goes to standby...

I check every caps polarity, sounds good, checked some wires, no one seems unsoldered.

More info: A service have already been made one time before I acquired it, all the 2.2uf have already been changed, but I replaced them. Also there is a strange part with long wires not in place (I guess it have been added by the person who serviced it long time ago). And I did not replaced the reservoir capacitor, not in the kit.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/s4bJZUPTtPaPRRSZ8

https://photos.app.goo.gl/jfNeEw4ZyrmM6zXy9

Could please help me find some things to test ? I only have a multimeter, no capacitor tester

Thx :) 

Dillen
Top 10 Contributor
Copenhagen / Denmark
Posts 13,191
Founder
Dillen replied on Fri, Jan 15 2021 3:53 PM

Check the solder joints at the output stage darlington transistors.