Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beocenter 5000 - setup & tips

rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 1 Follower

Thom Chesshyre
Not Ranked
United Kingdom
Posts 13
Bronze Member
Thom Chesshyre Posted: Wed, Apr 10 2013 1:09 AM

Hi,

My first post here - I'm new to the world of Bang & Olufsen.

I've just got hold of a Beocenter 5000 on eBay, and am in the process of getting it set up and working.  It needed a new cartridge, which I have tracked down.

I now need to get it set up and calibrated properly.  At the moment the arm doesn't behave very well at all - it goes to the right start place automatically, but then immediately swings off the record - as if the anti-skating is set way too high.

Could someone point me in the direction of a good guide to getting these things set up?

In due course I need to give the tape deck some TLC too, although as I don't have any tapes this is rather low down on my list of priorities!

Dillen
Top 10 Contributor
Copenhagen / Denmark
Posts 13,191
Founder
Dillen replied on Wed, Apr 10 2013 6:43 AM

Welcome to Beoworld !

We don't see that many posts on Beocenter 5000. These wonderful combos are getting rare.
It sounds like you have the tracking force set incorrectly (or the cartridge not mounted).
It's a very delicate balance with a tracking force as low as 1-1.5 grams depending on the cartridge type.
Tracking force is set on the tonearm counterweight.
It's all in the user manual, one of which I suggest you aquire. The easiest way to do this would probably be to upgrade
your membership to at least silver and download it from our main website.

The tapedeck will need new belts. I can supply these.

Martin

Thom Chesshyre
Not Ranked
United Kingdom
Posts 13
Bronze Member