Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Mac Mini and Beolab 14

rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 2 Followers

djcedr
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Bronze Member
djcedr Posted: Sat, Jul 27 2013 4:02 AM

Hello,

I'm a total noob on all audio questions, but I'd like to learn and to buy a B&O sound system. My usage: watch movies on my Mac Mini, and listen to music. My Mac Mini is an Air Play receiver (with AirFoil app) so I can stream music from my iPad to my Mac Mini.

Now, I'm hesitating between Beolab 14 and Beolab A9.

1) I'm not sure I understand the schematics provided in the Beolab 14 installation manual. Concretely, without investing in expensive DAC whatever, is there an easy way to plug my Mac Mini to the Beolab 14? Do I need a pre-amp of some sort, or can I 'just' use the optical output (which, honestly, looks like a jack to me), the HDMI cable, an USB cable... I'm lost! The input slot on the Beolab 14 looks like a sub-D with is supposed to be connected to 11 RCAs, makes sense but there's only 1 jack going out of the mac Mini, duh, so what am I supposed to put in the middle? (I warned you, noob) Looking at "HDMI audio to RCA" I can see HDMI cables with 5 audio RCA, not 10 - and definitely not 11.

2) Because of the simplicity, I'm also tempted by the Beolab A9. Now, to stream music from the iPad I'd go directly to the A9 Airplay receiver, easy. What about watching movies on the Mac Mini? I guess that iTunes is built for that so it should be fine (i.e. AirPlay'ing the sound from iTunes Mac Mini to the Airplay receiver of the A9). What about VLC, which I primarily use to watch TV series? (not even sure there are often in 5.1 by the way..). in terms of connectivity, it says 'line in', that, I know! :)