Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 8000 Project

This post has 257 Replies | 4 Followers

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
Posts 3,732
Bronze Member
sonavor replied on Mon, Aug 12 2013 1:12 AM

It appears BC556 (PNP) is a substitute for MPSH54.

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
Posts 3,732
Bronze Member

Before removing the transistors for the clipping circuit, I traced through and measured voltages in the FM boards. I didn't see anything wrong there. Now with the display and microcomputer boards disconnected (so I could get to right channel output amplifier), I studied the FM signal more closely. I found this break in the wiring on the microcomputer board.  The wire is so small that it is hard to see.  Especially with the cables in place.  Martin had alerted me to check for the small FM signal wires and I am hoping this is the source of my FM problem.

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
Posts 3,732
Bronze Member

The break in the wiring on the FM signal to the microcomputer board (frequency counter circuit) is worse than I thought. When I examined the broken reddish wire, the green wire fell out. So it was actually broken as well. Plus the green wire broke from the inside of the little inductor. I don't believe I will be able to fix that.  I have never replaced that type of component before. Is it readily available?

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
Posts 3,732
Bronze Member