Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beocord 2000 Reel to Reel, Mexico

rated by 0 users
This post has 126 Replies | 7 Followers

Søren Mexico
Top 10 Contributor
Mexico City
Posts 6,411
Bronze Member
Søren Mexico Posted: Tue, Jul 29 2014 7:58 AM

Tamtapir animated me to start on my BC 2000, so here goes. I am not as brave as D""ck, I have had some bad experiences with connecting used devices without checking the inside first, furthermore the main cable looked very bad with the insulation coming off in places, and as it is a little special, I dont have another to connect the BC.

First thing I took off the top covers, knobs come off easily, some of them has a screw, the other ones are just pull off.

Not too much dirt in there

Then the bottom cover, found the drawing, a loose label and some old foam inside

I could now see the PCBs and the way they did it then, simple but effective

Now look at the PCB connections, after more than 50 years ( maybe 60, I´m not sure about the build year), they are dirty, but as I see it, still with connection

Here a PCB out, as you see connections are there, but all around dirty.

Now I got a bit ahead of myself, wanted to see what Deoxit could really do, soaked the PCB connections with Deoxit, waited 5 min. and cleaned 2 tracks with a cotton stick, nice and clean without abrasives. That will also happen to your switches when you clean them this way.

Here the cotton stick, after cleaning one track.

All clean after 15 min. soaking

I now numbered all the PCBs as I´m going to treat all of them the same way. Then I took off the wood frame, 4 nuts and 2 screws from below. Here the tone heads, dirty but not worn. Red arrow is a tape guide, it had a kind of plastic cover (plastic tube), that one came off in 1000 pieces when i touched it just a little.