Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Connecting Penta 3 active speakers to non B&O sound system?

rated by 0 users
This post has 3 Replies | 0 Followers

GylesC
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Bronze Member
GylesC Posted: Sat, Aug 8 2015 3:39 PM

Hi there guys,

I'm new to the site & also a complete newbie to B&O equipment..  I have 4 B&O Penta 3's that i picked up off of my boss for a very low price because he wanted to get rid of them ;) I do not however own a B&O stereo, nor am I in a current position to buy one...

The point of this post is to ask if anyone has previously wired up these speakers to a non B&O system, or has the knowledge of how to do it? Are there any adapters needed? Can it be done without buying any extra equipment?

Looking forward to some good news hopefully!!

Thanks,

Gyles

Dave Farr
Top 50 Contributor
France
Posts 2,283
Gold Member

Hi Gyles and welcome to Beoworld.

Yes, they can be used with a non-B&O system and many people have done this.  The link below answers this question for you;

http://archivedarchivedforum2.beoworld.org/forums/t/40935.aspx

What are you going to connect it to then?  There are a multitude of older B&O amps/systems that have the Powerlink outputs to drive these.  Yoiu can also use them with your TV set.  Some older B&O stuff is not as expensive as you may think and you'll then get the most oput of these speakers.

Enjoy them.

Dave.

GylesC
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Bronze Member
GylesC replied on Sat, Aug 8 2015 4:42 PM

Hi Dave, thankyou very much :)

Ok brilliant, well thats good news. Only problem is I'm not very good with all this technical jargon.... I've read through that link you sent, and I've got to be honest, I don't really understand what they're talking about :P Could you shed some light..?