Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 1900 Humming

rated by 0 users
This post has 20 Replies | 2 Followers

SantaCruzTV
Not Ranked
Posts 26
Bronze Member
SantaCruzTV Posted: Wed, Oct 12 2016 8:39 PM

Hi there, first time posting here, but I've been repairing audio / video equipment for 30 years.  I don't see a lot of B&O products, but I'm trying to fix one for a good customer.  He bought a Beomaster 1900 off eBay that supposedly worked.  But, it has a hum that is present behind the audio and increases as you increase the volume.  The main filter cap (I believe must have been a can style) has been replaced with a 10,000uf / 35v and a 1000uf / 35v (looks like recent work).  I can't rule these out as the cause, but I thought I'd check in here first to see if anyone has any experience with this sort of failure.  I'm not really looking to re-cap the whole unit as that might be cost prohibitive.  Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Greg

Dillen
Top 10 Contributor
Copenhagen / Denmark
Posts 13,191
Founder
Dillen replied on Wed, Oct 12 2016 9:51 PM

SantaCruzTV:

The main filter cap (I believe must have been a can style) has been replaced with a 10,000uf / 35v and a 1000uf / 35v
I'm not really looking to re-cap the whole unit as that might be cost prohibitive.  Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Greg

The main filter caps should be 4700uF or 5000uF 50V. That's one for the positive and one for the negative supply for the amplifier.
They should be identical.

On the main board you'll find an axial 2200uF filter capacitor for the low voltage supply.

Humming could be caused by many things. Aging capacitors is by far the most common reason - and curiously it's usually not the large
power supply filter caps causing this problem but typically some of the smaller ones.