Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

BEOCENTER 7700 help

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 0 Followers

justanewbie
Not Ranked
Posts 17
Bronze Member
justanewbie Posted: Sat, Sep 1 2012 11:23 PM

Hello to all!

Let me begin by saying that I am a newbie, looking for advice and guidance on how to repair this newly acquired piece of machinery.  I recently picked up a Beocenter 7700 from a local Goodwill store for 20 dollars.  I figured it would go great with my record and cassette collection that I have.

Cosmetically it looks great.  Only a few scratches, and once I cleaned it up it looks awesome.

Here are the problems:

The cassette deck does not play, ffw, or rwd.  It ejects fine, lights up when there is a cassette in it, but whenever I press any type of the above mentioned buttons it just makes a loud clicking sound and thats it.

The biggest problem I see, and probably the reason it was so cheap is the tone arm is completely off!  Overall the stylus and arm seem like they are in good shape, but it is just not attached.  There are some exposed wires on it, but it doesn't look like it was torn off by force...

When I press the phone play button, the displays light up, but the platter does not spin.  The only time it spins is when I press the "turn" button.  If it was the belt, then it would not turn at all right?

Any advice/response would be great, and thank you taking the time to read my post.

Steffen
Top 75 Contributor
Denmark
Posts 1,408
Bronze Member
Steffen replied on Sun, Sep 2 2012 12:51 AM

Hello there

The cassette mechanism definitely needs new belts.

About the turntable/'phono' section: