Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beolab 8000 to connect over AirPlay

rated by 0 users
This post has 9 Replies | 2 Followers

TPal
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Bronze Member
TPal Posted: Sun, Jun 24 2018 5:36 PM
Hi everyone, I am kinda new to this “sport”. And within the group. Nice to meet you all. 
I got some Bang & Olufsen Beolab 8000 MKII and I would like to connect them with my iPhone or iPad via AirPlay.
At the moment I am able to listen to music by directly connect each speaker to an RCA to 3,5 jack adapter directly to my iPad. I know i need an extra device to buy in order to connect the speakers and this device to the modem. But, I don’t know that kind of device I need. Do I need a preamplifier or a simple DAC only? For sure I wanna have AirPlay or over WiFi connectivity. 
Do you have some audio receiver to recommend with AirPlay but also which gives the ability to connect more devices such turntable on it? All your recommendations are welcome! Thanks. 
graemeben
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 132
Bronze Member
graemeben replied on Sun, Jun 24 2018 7:02 PM

Hi. I have an airport express box ( looks the same as Apple TV box)and, using its headphone socket, is then connected to the aux in on my BC9300 with BL8000's. AirPlay works very nicely  for Spotify etc on my iPad. I see no reason why, seeing as you already are using the headphone socket on your device, you couldn't connect your BL8000's straight to an airport express headphone socket and use your device for control of music and volume. On Spotify there's even a graphic equaliser for tone control.

Hope this helps.

Graeme.

Steve at Sounds Heavenly
Top 50 Contributor
The cable workshop, Leics, UK
Posts 2,165
Gold Member

Hi TPal,