Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Roon

rated by 0 users
This post has 9 Replies | 0 Followers

R&M
Not Ranked
Posts 3
R&M Posted: Mon, Apr 19 2021 12:01 PM

Hi

i have a Beomaster 5 based system with various B&O speakers in my kitchen, garden room, and dining room.

I would like to roonify my system. I have Roon running on a iMac (running UPnP2LMS) and I can feed it to my TVs in a bedroom and living room, but can’t see how to use the Beomaster. I’ve tried plugging in a cable to SPDIf input via a RPi with a digital output but with no luck.

has anyone tried Roonifying their Beomaster 5, if so how did you manage it?

best

steve

Millemissen
Top 10 Contributor
Flensborg, Denmark
Posts 14,680
Gold Member

Hi steve and welcome.

There is no digital input on a BM5.

The only way to get sound from an external device is to use the USB input and a small converter like the Behringer UCA222 

MM

There is a tv - and there is a BV

R&M
Not Ranked
Posts 3
R&M replied on Mon, Apr 19 2021 7:06 PM

Thanks MM for your quick response.

I can see that I need to do more research as the manual says the SPDIF is an output to speakers. Further the usb connector is for servicing the unit.

But surely the BM5 has a DAC, but as you say it does not have a digital input but I don’t see how the Behringer helps me with Roon.  It’s all very confusing.

Millemissen
Top 10 Contributor
Flensborg, Denmark
Posts 14,680
Gold Member

Yes, the BM5 has a digital to analog converter solution, but that is for internal processing of the sound.

There is no digital input possibility, but the USB connection.

The BM5 has the drivers for the Behringer UCA installed - once you connect that , you can connect an analog R/L source.

This means, that you will have to use a DAC with your RPi....there are some, that you can install on top of that.