Sign in   |  Join   |  Help
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- March 2012 to February 2022
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the second Archived Forum which was active between 1st March 2012 and 23rd February 2022

Beomaster 2000

rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 1 Follower

ojb
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Bronze Member
ojb Posted: Thu, Sep 13 2012 7:42 PM

Hello all!

I'm a total newbie to the Beoworld - have loved the classic design of B & O for years and finally took the plunge and bought a Beomaster 2000 (80's version), Beogram 2000 and Beovox RL35 speakers.  I'm hoping the knowledgeable people on this forum might be able to point me in the right direction.

I've just hooked the Beogram, Beomaster and speakers together (new speaker cables and new DIN plugs).  The Beomaster lights up, the touch buttons, dial and sliders all seem to work fine.  The Beogram cues up and plays fine, the 'Beolink' connection between the two seems to work fine... ... ... but ... ... ... I can't get any sound!

I've tried both pairs of speaker connections, and still no joy.

I've plugged an mp3 player into the TP2 sockets, and still no joy.

I've tried listening to both the Beogram and mp3 player through headphones and still no joy.  By rotating the jack I get some static, but that's it!

While I'm not expecting miracles, does anyone know if this is a common problem with the 80's Beomaster 2000?  Will it be difficult / expensive to fix?  Have I made an idiotic newbie mistake somewhere down the line?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks for reading,

Owen

elephant
Top 10 Contributor
AU
Posts 8,219
Founder
elephant replied on Thu, Sep 13 2012 7:57 PM

Firstly welcome to BeoWorld and secondly I certainly hope one of the electronics wizards can help you ... since you tested the headphone jack it sounds like probably the problem is in a common pre-amp area ... but just a thought, did you try listening to the AM and/or FM radio functions on the speakers and the headphone ?